

Riverside County Advisory Council on Aging

Membership Committee Meeting

August 16, 2023

9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Location:

Office on Aging 3610 Central Avenue Suite 102 Riverside, CA 92506



Agenda Overview

- 1. First Order of Business 1.4. Public Comment
- 2. Discussion
- 3. Adjourn for Lunch
- 4. Reestablish Quorum
- 5. Action
- 6. Adjourn

1. First Order of Business Cynthia Lemus, Parliamentarian, Committee Chair

1.1. Call to Order

Any requests for public comment during the meeting should be made by comment card and submitted to *Libby Garcia*. Public comments will be heard at Agenda Item 1.4.

1.2. Establish Attendance

Members Cynthia Lemus, Parliamentarian, Committee Chair Don Brock, Member Debbie Franklin, Vice Chair Office on Aging Staff Gary Robbins, Deputy Director for Administration Renne Sanchez, Supervising Program Specialist

Libby Garcia, Executive Assistant II

1. First Order of Business Cynthia Lemus, Parliamentarian, Committee Chair

1.3. Chair Reports and Reminders *None*

1.4. Public Comments

Each speaker may be limited to speak two (2) minutes or less depending on the number of speakers. At the direction of the Chair or by majority vote of the Council, the two (2) minute time limitation may be waived, increased, or reduced. The maximum time for public comment for any individual item or topic may be limited to fifteen (15) minutes. The Council may terminate public comments if such comments become repetitious or disruptive. Any written documents to be distributed or presented to the Council shall be submitted <u>AC@rivco.org</u>. This policy applies to Public Comments and general comments on agenda items. Under the Brown Act, the Council will not take action on or discuss matters raised which are not posted 72 hours in advance. Council members may refer such matters to staff for factual information or to be placed on the subsequent agenda for consideration. 2. Discussion Items Cynthia Lemus, Parliamentarian, Committee Chair

2.1. Discussion Items

- 2.1.1. Member Applicant Interviews
- 2.1.2. Discussion of Member Applications and Interviews

3. Adjourn for Break Cynthia Lemus, Parliamentarian, Committee Chair

3.1. Approve Motion to Adjourn for Break

Quorum:Must
abstain:Motion:Second:Notes:Vote:

4. Re-Establish Attendance Cynthia Lemus, *Parliamentarian, Committee Chair*

4.1. Resume Meeting and Reestablish Attendance

Members

- Cynthia Lemus, Parliamentarian, Committee Chair
- Don Brock, Member
- Debbie Franklin, Vice Chair

Office on Aging Staff

- Gary Robbins, Deputy Director for Administration
- Renne Sanchez, Supervising Program Specialist
- Libby Garcia, Executive Assistant II

5. Action Items Cynthia Lemus, *Parliamentarian*, *Committee Chair*

5.1.1 Approve Minutes from July 12, 2023, Membership Committee Meeting

Quorum:	
Must abstain:	
Motion:	
Second:	
Notes:	
Vote:	

5. Action Items Cynthia Lemus, *Parliamentarian, Committee Chair* **5.1.2.** Approve Membership Committee Recommendation of Candidates for General Advisory Council Consideration on September 6, 2023

Quorum:		
Must abstain:		
Motion:		
Second:		
Notes:		
Vote:		

6. Adjourn Cynthia Lemus, *Parliamentarian, Committee Chair*

6.1. Approve Motion to Adjourn

Quorum:Must
abstain:Motion:Second:Notes:Vote:

Riverside County Board of Supervisors

Kevin Jeffries	Supervisor, District I
Karen Spiegel	Supervisor, District II
Chuck Washington	Supervisor, District III
V. Manuel Perez	Supervisor, District IV
Yxstian Gutierrez	Supervisor, District V

Riverside County Office on Aging Staff

Jewel Lee	Director
Gary Robbins	Deputy Director for Administration
Renne Sanchez	Supervising Program Specialist
Libby Garcia	Executive Assistant II

Advisory Council on Aging Membership

Mark Cox	Chair
Debbie Franklin	Vice Chair/Appointee, District V
Cynthia Lemus	Parliamentarian
Sterlon Sims	Appointee, District I
Vacant	Appointee, District II
Vacant	Appointee, District III
Milissa Meyer	Appointee, District IV
Javier Lopez	Member
Donald Brock	Member
Steve Mehlman	Member
Teresa Chappell	Member
Barbara Mitchell	Member
Vacant	Member

Advisory Council on Aging Committees

Committee	Chair	Members
Executive	Mark Cox	Debbie Franklin Cynthia Lemus
Advocacy	Teresa Chappell	Mark Cox Steve Mehlman
Annual Report	Cynthia Lemus	Vacant
Bylaws	Javier Lopez	Debbie Franklin
Community Connections	Cynthia Lemus	Vacant
Healthy Living	TBD	Barbara Mitchell Debbie Franklin
Membership	Cynthia Lemus, Interim	Donald Brock
Planning	Debbie Franklin	Vacant

Advisory Council on Aging Liaisons

California Senior Legislature (CSL)	Mark Cox, Senior Assembly Member
California Senior Legislature (CSL)	Milissa Meyer, Senior Assembly Member
California Senior Legislature (CSL)	Teresa Chappell, Senior Assembly Member
California Senior Legislature (CSL)	Vacant, Senior Assembly Member
California Senior Legislature (CSL)	Steve Mehlman, Senior Senator
California Senior Legislature (CSL)	Donald Brock, Senior Senator
Continuum of Care	Javier Lopez
Foundation on Aging	Cynthia Lemus
Grandparents Raining Grandchildren (GRG)	Mark Cox
Health Insurance Counseling and Advocacy Program (HICAP)	Debbie Franklin
Housing	Javier Lopez
In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) Advisory Council	Barbara Mitchell Donald Brock
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program (LTCOP)	Teresa Chappell
Older Adults System of Care	Barbara Mitchell
Public Health	Vacant
Transportation Services	Steve Mehlman
Triple A Council of California (TACC)	Cynthia Lemus
Veterans Services	Cynthia Lemus Donald Brock

Advisory Council on Aging Guidelines

Materials Distributed: In compliance with the Brown Act and Government Code Section 54957.5, agenda materials distributed 72 hours prior to the meeting, which are public records relating to open session agenda items, will be available for inspection by members of the public prior to the meeting at the following email address: <u>AC@rivco.org</u>. To view a hard copy of the materials, please contact Advisory Council staff at phone number: (877) 932-4100.

ADA: In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and Government Code Section 54954.2, if special assistance is needed to attend an Advisory Council on Aging meeting, please contact Stacie Catlin at: (877) 932-4100 or TTD 711. Notification of at least 48 hours prior to meeting time will assist staff in assuring that reasonable arrangements can be made to provide accessibility at the meeting.

Public Comments: Each speaker may be limited to speak two (2) minutes or less depending on the number of speakers. At the direction of the Chair or by majority vote of the Council, the two (2) minute time limitation may be waived, increased or reduced. The maximum time for public comment for any individual item or topic may be limited to fifteen (15) minutes. The Council may terminate public comments if such comments become repetitious or disruptive. Any written documents to be distributed or presented to the Council shall be submitted to the Council's assigned staff. This policy applies to Public Comments and general comments on agenda items. Under the Brown Act, the Council will not take action on or discuss matters raised which are not posted 72 hours in advance. Council members may refer such matters to staff for factual information or to be placed on the subsequent agenda for consideration.